top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

My Beauty Brick Experience


It's my birthday this week- yay! Since I've always been a birthday person, I have this yearly routine for myself and that is to change and/or experiment with my hairstyle right before my birthday (self- treat). You know new look; new life.


So being the obsessive, inquisitive girl I am, I looked up digital perms online because I always wanted to have a curly hair like my mom when she was at my age. There are two prominent salons in the metro known for their digi-perming expertise: Bangs

Tony & Jackey and Beauty Brick. (Das Raum 29)


I know getting a perm is a long term commitment because this involves a special care and it's a challenge for a kind of "lazy girl" like me (when it comes to caring my hair, duh). I am a compulsive Google-r so I Googled both salons, looked up information and read a million reviews.


Apparently, Bangs Tony & Jackey is quite expensive, especially for people who have damaged hair or have already de-virginized their hair. It can cost up to Php 8,000 and above for a treatment. Also, how your perm ends-out depends on who is doing your hair and at what branch you get it done at.


Beauty Brick (Das Raum 29) however, only has one branch, one stylist, and if you look up reviews online, all are good (I mean ALL). The price for a digi-perm costs around Php 5,000, which is pretty cheap and the price of a stra-perm (rebonded at the top, permed at the bottom), is Php 7,800. Seems like a pretty good deal, right? They will also advise you what kind of perm is good for you and the size of the curls you should get.


If you wanna get a hair perm, I highly recommend Beauty Brick or Das Raum 29 in Japanese (maybe), which is located at Dona Consolacion Bldg, Jupiter St., Makati City. Drive along Jupiter Street and look for Red Ribbon and Top Grill, which is beside Beauty Brick.


Tip: It can get pretty full, though, so make sure you call or text ahead before you go to their salon.


Anyway, let me narrate how my Beauty Brick day went. Being so puyat due to a party last Friday night, I forced myself to wake up so early at 6:30 last Saturday morning because I was scheduled at 9 AM (which in the first place was my choice) in the salon. A bit sleepy yet so excited and a little nervous about how my hair will look like at the end of the day.


I arrived 25 minutes earlier and everybody in the salon (of course, the staffs) greeted me a loud and lively "good morning". It was a warm welcome thou (I like the energy lol). I mean, it was not like the usual salons I've been before, where everybody will just stare at me as I enter. Okay, within minutes, I was seated, hair washed, chose the hair style I want, and ready to get treated. Mr. Shin cut my hair first, and soon people were working on my hair.


Mr. Shin, the only stylist of Beauty Brick, has a loud voice. He speaks in Japanese and thankfully, he has a translator with him, so that the customers know his wishes. He speaks in a ridiculously loud, (when I mean loud, I mean LOUD) voice, which often attracts the attention of other people and makes you feel as if your hair is being criticized harshly. At first I was scared of him, he seemed really, really angry– a result of all that voice raising– then I realized that he was genuinely concerned about his customers.He moves from customer to customer, checking each of their hair and suggesting what would be best. He really wants all the customers to leave satisfied, and I have to say that that’s a trait that is hard to find among most people nowadays.


Sat on my butt for 3 hours without me feeling tired. It was actually quite interesting, what was going on, and it pleased me that one of Mr. Shin’s many assistants, was nice enough to explain what were the treatments she's about to put on my hair. I also love how they strictly follow the time, like when Mr. Shin asks his staff to put all the treatments in my hair for just 3 mins then it should only be 3 minutes (not more, not less). His assistants always update him in everything that they'd do from minute-to minute, seriously. A lot of talking in the salon. Even the cashier announced the amount she has received from a customer (Yes, everybody in the salon heard how much a customer has paid. Sounds ridiculous but amazing. That's how they update their boss.) then all of the staffs will simultaneously say Arigatou, which means "Thank you." Anyway, time is gold for them, I gotta say.


They suggested medium-sized curl for me because that's what suits me and the big curls loosen easily. The total of almost Php 5,000

, which I expected. Thankfully, I'm ready. I'm at the salon for almost 4 hours, which meant moving from chair to chair to accommodate other customers as well. It was well worth it thou. I think that’s the first time I’ve ever beamed about my hair, since I’m convinced it hates me.


Et voilà! For the first time in forever, I was proud with my hair. Didn't think about the money I've spent because it was all worth it. And as the Beauty Brick (feeling) endorser I am, my hair ended-up looking great! Thank you so much Mr. Shin and Beauty Brick staffs for my princess-y slash kind of Goldilocks variety (at first hahaha) hairstyle. I love it! I will surely come back (for the 10% discount hahaha)


So that's my Beauty Brick experience. I won't elaborate much and if you guys are looking for great digital perms, you should go to Beauty Brick in Makati. I assure you, it's worth it!




SEARCH BY TAGS: 

bottom of page